Are Asylum Seekers Human?

I’ve managed to enrage myself already this morning. Those who know me will say that it is not difficult and that I should stay away from the Daily Mail website but I obviously have a masochistic streak.

One of the main arguments levelled at me once people with certain political leanings find out I’m Muslim is that Muslims have no humanity. How could I want to be part of a religion that celebrates the deaths of innocent civilians and sends their children out to die with pleasure. Disputing this actual idea is the subject of a post for another day.

This morning, the Daily Mail have a fairly bog standard report on the deaths of asylum seekers off Christmas Island and it is not the article that has annoyed me this morning but the comments underneath it. And yes, I am fully aware that I should not allow the hideous trolls that comment on the Daily Mail website upset me.

The main gist of the comments is seemingly a faux sympathy towards those who have died underscored with rather poorly hidden glee that they are asylum seekers.

Asylum seekers have long been the ‘bogeyman’ of the right. The main gist of the anti-asylum case is as follows: These people do not come over here to seek a better life for themselves and their families. They come here to steal our benefits and our affordable housing. They have no desire to contribute to our society but to bleed us dry like the parasites they are. There seems to be no understanding that, like us, asylum seekers too want a chance at a decent life. They want to live their lives in a stable society away from fear of persecution and sometimes torture and death. They want their children to have access to a good education with then prospects of a good career ahead of them. ‘They’, like ‘us’, are human too in their wishes and desires.

So now it’s my turn to ask where is the humanity in those who oppose immigration? Are you really so blinded by your hate and fear of asylum seekers that you actually think the deaths of 40+ people, many of them children, is something to be pleased about?

~ by ummissa on December 15, 2010.

2 Responses to “Are Asylum Seekers Human?”

  1. Well said SIS! xx

  2. You were correct in your statement you should stay away from the comments on the media web sites! I do, because I got too angry. I remind people that the von Trapp family were asylum seekers too and everyone loves The Sound of Music.

Leave a comment